Gregory DeGraff Self Critique

Over the course of this semester, I have learned more about 3D animation in not only Maya, but as a whole. I have learned many things about 3D animation that I wouldn’t have known otherwise and will help me a great deal in the future. There are a few things I still need to work on to improve my 3D animating skills such as the overlap and follow through of motions. These skills will be improved upon in the future by creating more animations from this point on.

The things I have learned about 3D animation this semester have been of great help. One of the things I learned was how every bone in a 3D model needs to be moving in order for it to feel alive. If the bones are still, then the model is either dead or a machine. I also learned the importance of reference footage and how it helps guide an animator on what each pose should look like and how it should move. This information will be very useful in any future animations I make.

Another thing I learned about was overlap and follow through. What this does is make your animation seem more real as you let one bone move, the one will follow and overlap with the previous bone and it carries on to the rest. This is one of the things I still need to work on. My animations tend to lack some overlapping and apears too robotish, meaning the motions were too in sync. This might be because I took some 2D animation classes a few years ago in Rochester, NY, so I was probably still stuck in the 2D mindset. Another thing I have to work on is easing in and out of the motions, making sure no IK joints pop, and making sure that everything is lined up properly while standing.

I have learned so many things this semester but I still need to improve. One of the ways I can do this is by making more 3D animations for my YouTube channel using Blender instead of Maya. My reasoning for using a different program is that the pricipals I learned can apply to any 3D animating software, and while Maya is the more professional software, there is still more I need to learn about it, such as how to rig a character I have modeled. I am already familiar with Blender and works better on Mac computers than Maya does. I will probably use Maya more when I learn more about it but I will still use Blender in the mean time.

About degrafgo

I am a fun, green loving guy who owns 3 YouTube channels under the name DeGraphics.
This entry was posted in Time Based, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

