Van Vavrek’s Video Calibration

On April 14, 2017 at 3pm, I visited Van Vavrek’s Video Calibration Exhibition at the Bret Llewellyn Gallery here at the Student Engineering and Technology Building at Alfred State College. It was quite interesting with the distorted video’s projected in the room. Since I didn’t show up at the gallery’s opening so I am missing some information, but I do have an idea of what Vavrek was communicating.

The gallery had a projector which showed many distorted video clips with music that sounded equally distorted. The clips seemed to short but they did shift, though an untrained eye might not notice it sometimes. Most of the clips, if not all, seemed to have been recorded with and old cassette camera. From what I could tell, the clips mostly featured humans.

From what I could gather, the exhibition was meant to represent how we each perceive reality, and to combine each perspective would allow it to appear distorted. Another way to interpret it would be that everyone has a distorted view on life. Both of these were because of the distorted video and the soundtrack that sounded just as distorted. Either way, the gallery made me feel as though it interprets it reality.

If I were to apply the gallery to my work in DMA, I would possibly use it in an effective story telling animation. I am uncertain how I would apply it to my Interactive Design, except to apply whatever animation I make mentioned earlier, would be added to the website I am to create in that class. The opportunity to use this might not come in my remaining college years, but maybe in my future career, whatever it may be.

About degrafgo

I am a fun, green loving guy who owns 3 YouTube channels under the name DeGraphics.
This entry was posted in Lectures & Workshops and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

